Crochet on a train…

So last week I had to go to Sydney on the train and took a bunch of random “tools” with me.

In my kit I ended up with: 1 3.5mm crochet hook, half a ball of bright coloured double knitting yarn, a mechanical pencil, a .2mm black pen, a bunch of coloured pencils and a small pair of scissors.

I found that colour pencils and trains don’t really mix as I am a bit of a spreader.. I tend to create over a wide area so crochet was the go on the day.  On the way to Sydney I made a a pair of finger less gloves  then on the way home the next day I didnt  have a lot of yarn left so I started a freeform basket

creating a freeform basket

creating a freeform basket

I then thought after creating the little basket that it might be nice to decorate the train with my handy work.

decorate your public transport

Wouldn’t it be cool if creative people everywhere made little things and then left them in public spaces?

Aanyway having done that (much to the amusement of my travelling companions) I was out of yarn with still an hour or so to go so I started a journal page:

journal page, crochet finger less gloves and a free form basket

journal page, crochet finger less gloves and a free form basket

I noticed a couple of things on this trip:

1. people watch you when you create in public, they are very curious to see what you are up to

2. creating in public is a great conversation starter.  I had a couple of people ask me questions and start talking to me as a result of crocheting in public.

All in all it was a good trip

One thought on “Crochet on a train…

  1. Love the idea of leaving your mark on the train(in a good way of course).What a great idea. we all should do something like that. it reminded me of a gnome rest area btwen perth & Boddington.you leave a gnome when visiting.nothing was broken but one couldn’t say that would happen in nz.Love your site Justine.

Leave a Reply

