The Nicotine Plot

Seriously, I have been a non-smoker now for several months, I am quite pleased about this… and rather proud of myself. The only thing is that I have noticed that it is getting harder and harder to get nicotine lozenges.. In fact I am lucky to be able to find them at all. I have had to revert to gum, which I don’t like because well, I just don’t like gum..  have fillings and filling and gums are an unpredictable mix – sometimes the gum wins which means that the dentist also wins. This isn’t something I’m really that keen on.

So tonight I decided, after a day of fruitless searching for my lozenge fix, to find out what was up. It turns out that GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Started a recall of its lozenges in MARCH of this year and not because there was a real problem oh no, they recalled because the lozenges weren’t a uniform size!  So meanwhile here we are in September, on the brink of October, the shelves of the supermarket are bare … not a skerick of lozenge to be found.

What gives?  Here is what the website says

Lozenge and mini Lozenge.

Questions About the Shortage

Is it safe to continue using nicotine lozenges?

Our medical assessment determined that our lozenges do not pose a safety risk. Consumers can still use any lozenges they currently possess. For more information, consumers can call our Consumer Relations Line at 888-569-1743 during the hours of 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern, Monday through Friday.

What should I do if I have some of the affected product?

Our medical assessment determined that our lozenges do not pose a safety risk. Consumers can still use any lozenges they currently possess. For more information, consumers can call our Consumer Relations Line at 888-569-1743 during the hours of 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern, Monday through Friday.

If there is no safety issue, why are you recalling the product?

We are voluntarily conducting a recall from warehouses and distributors because an internal investigation detected manufacturing issues with some of the products. In some cases, the lozenges were larger or smaller than GSK’s manufacturing standards. Consumers can still use any lozenges they currently possess – our lozenges do not pose a safety risk.

Why all this fuss about size if it isn’t affecting the actual safety of the product?

While I know I am still needing (ever decreasing) amounts of nicotine to stop me from turning into a raving withdrawal ridden lunatic  – I wonder how other people are getting on?  I wonder also how long this manufacturing of ill-formed lozenges is set to continue and am I to end up munching on gum and ultimately buy my dentist a new Mercedes?  Are other people out there being thwarted in their valiant attempts to quit being human chimneys? Is it all a twisted fascist plot to get us back to smoking because people are losing jobs in the tobacco industry?  Is it just that I have been up way to long today and just need to stop worrying about where I am going to get my next fix and just get some feckin’ sleep?… Something to think about, or not.

And while you are pondering that here is a picture I drew of a giraffe.

Giraffe

Giraffe

2 thoughts on “The Nicotine Plot

  1. Hi Jay – I have never smoked but I can say that I feel your frustration. Also I wanted to tell you that your blog helped me figure out who I want to speak to in my blog (blogging 101 assignment today). And I love your giraffe.

Leave a Reply

