Asking for help or No Chick is an Island!

First things First – Happy New Year to all my followers and readers.. I just want you to know that I am deeply appreciative of you taking time out of your busy schedules to read and look at what I am up to. You are all truly awesome!
Stand Together

So here we are at 2015…Whew, that rolled up quick! and with a new year come the of course all important and totally ignored resolutions.. Hmmm, which is why I don’t bother with them!  What I am doing instead this year is simple. When I need help I will ask for it.

I know that sounds incredibly simple but for me scaling Mt. Everest would be easier!  I am (ask my partner) a self-reliant person who has a great deal of trouble asking for help. I am extremely good at playing things close to my chest and figuring stuff out for myself. The mere thought of admitting that I am not an island makes me extremely nervous.. like I am about to bungy jump off a perfectly good bridge. Even writing this post is giving me sweaty palms!
I know on a logical level that we all need help at some point and some people are better than others at asking for help.. I would rather flush my head in the toilet.

So this year I would love to get my art and photographs out in the world on a level where I am actually making a reasonable amount of money  out of them.  I have it on good authority that I am quite good at both of these things that I love doing, so there is no reason why I shouldn’t enjoy an income from them, except from the fact that I am completely terrified of not being good enough (I know that I don’t have that all on my own) So this year I am going to be asking for help – to get this off the ground AND become better at what I do. Hey, it worked for Amanda Palmer who funded her solo album by asking!

Oh and if anyone has some really good ideas on where to start.. let me know 😀

 

Here’s to an adventurous New Year!

singnature

Leave a Reply

