Open letter to YOU

Cover Image CYY

Open Letter to Family, Friends and Followers… and anyone else who just happens to be reading this who has never actually met me…

wpid-fb_img_1436797969954.jpg

At the beginning of the year I made a decision that I would make art – everyday. That I would paint, draw, teach and find and explore ways that I could turn my passion into my living – without compromising my own particular vision. Its “the thing” these days to get paid to do what it is you love and why not? It’s better than the alternative which many of us have experienced for large parts of our lives.

I was pretty smart about this whole move and decided instead of doing what I would normally do (which is chucking my job and going all in) I would keep my job and work consistently towards replacing and exceeding my current (rather inconsistent) income and I am pleased to report that it seems to be working – I am making a small but almost regular supplimentary income which is almost paying for my addiction to paper, pens and paint, it is even leaving some left over for larger purchases like a really good second hand photo printer, a new camera lens and an ergonomic painting stool, also second hand, and other useful artistic goodies.

I also committed putting myself “Out There” so I have been entering competitions this year and so far I have entered 3 shows and earned 2 special recognitions. I also have 2 exhibitions booked and my test run of cards has been selling consistently – Oh and I have good attendance at my classes and workshops. It seems to be going pretty well really 😀

The other thing that I decided to do this year was to ask for help (it worked for Amanda Palmer!) this is a very big thing for me – I have always been independent, often to the point of being obtuse, which has sometimes served me well and other times, well, not so much. Matt (my partner, for the benefit of those who don’t know) used to say to me all the time “Pride is like a garden shed, If you try to swallow it its going to stick in your throat” and it’s true in a lot of ways. I have been asking for help in small ways all year and it has been extremely challenging because sometimes it really is about selling myself which can be uncomfortable and means risking rejection. Sometimes though you have to step onto the runway and prove you are not going to get killed.

I have spent the last few weeks working on two calendars for 2016. One is a calendar of unusual botany from a series of illustrations that I have been working on and the other is an adults colouring calendar based on the principles of Zentangle and Doodling and in line with the current fashion for adult colouring books as a relaxation and meditation tool. I have just put them up for sale and this is the bit where I ask you to help me.

I have a goal of selling 1000 of these calendars in total and I am asking you to help me do this – I ask very respectfully that you go and check out the calendars and purchase one either for yourself or as a gift for someone else and also to pass this post on to people in your network and ask them to check my calendars as well.

I will also be giving 10% of the profits to Cedar Creek Wombat Sanctuary who are doing amazing things to help fight sarcoptic mange in wombats and to help rehabilitate sick and injured wombats here in the Hunter Valley, They need all the support they can get – so not only will be helping me but you will also be helping something that I care very deeply about.

Here is the link to the calendar pre-sale page – Oh and I am not printing these commercially I am doing it all right here at home by hand 😀 – Go and have a look and if you like what you see, Buy one and help cure A.S.S (Artist Starvation Syndrome) and help to keep wombats healthy

Go the Calendar Pre sale Page ——>

Your ongoing support is greatly appreciated and I thank you so much for taking the time to read this rather epic post!

Kindest Regards and Big Love,

Jay

xx

Leave a Reply

