5 things I will be doing differently in 2017

img_0047

A photographic representation of 2016.

2016 was tough

It was a year that left in its wake a plethora of dead celebrities some of whom we were sure would live for ever and others we had no clue that they were unwell, it was the year the gave us epic political uncertainty as Britain Brexit’d and the US voted in a person as the inbound president who needs no introduction but left us all agog at what had happened. On a more personal level it saw personal struggles from death to financial trails to relationship struggles that I have never had to endure before, a year I spent  living on a ridgeline in the Australian bush in a portable cabin .. great views, awesome wildlife, not good for the car and not quite as good for the soul as I may have initially thought .. 2016 was tough.  I know I’m not the only one who felt the constant kick in the nuts that 2016 kept on delivering.  Thank God that’s over!

I don’t do the resolution thing, i never really have but I do do course corrections when things are going pear-shaped and I finally catch on – so here is what I will be doing differently in 2017…

I will put my health and well-being first.

In the years preceding 2016 being strong and healthy were high on my agenda, I prioritised regular exercise at least 40 mins of medium intensity 4+ times a week, I had run a half marathon, tried my hand at bodybuilding and maintained a low heart rate and blood pressure that made doctors nervous.  My diet was plant based and I maintained a body that was functionally healthy and strong. Sure I smoked and drank but I’m not perfect. Cue 2016 with its study demands which involved a reasonable amount of travel and earlier mornings than what my body is naturally geared for, cue the lack of a kitchen that I could really cook in (yay living in the bush) and living in the bush where everything made me nervous .. exercise as I had known it went out the window closely followed by its best bud healthy eating …cue expanding pants sizes and general self loathing teamed with relative isolation and I had a recipe for physical and mental unwellness that I hadn’t experienced since i first left home and went a wee bit of the rails.

So all of that needs to change .. 2017 is where I reclaim my health and well-being – it’s back to regular exercise and good, healthy food and getting back to my former super-woman-ness.  Pushing weights, swinging kettlebells, running, swimming, laughing etc etc…

Oh side note on health and well being .. I experienced a lot of being told what I needed to do for my healing this year .. i wont be letting that happen again. we all intuitively know what it is we need to be better, sometimes we just need a little assistance and that’s cool, what’s not cool is being hijacked.

Quit Worrying

I pretty much think that if worry was an Olympic sport I could worry for New Zealand, I would be a gold medalist, so good am I at worrying.  Problem is most of what I worry about is a) something that’s probably never going to happen or b) something I genuinely cant do anything about right now, so all I am doing is adding stress I don’t need, losing sleep and generally making myself miserable. God knows I don’t think I need anymore grey hair!

Most of the worry is financial .. how am I going to pay the blah blah blah when xyz???  Well what about if I just quit worrying about it.. when I signed up for that particular thing I wasn’t experiencing financial hardship nor was I planning on experiencing it but shit happens and life changes .. I will do the best I can and whats the worst that can happen? Can i live with that?  Yep, well then its time to quit worrying !

Spend less time in the digital world

Most of us are guilty of this,  spending too much time staring at a screen and not enough time getting sun on your face and engaging with REAL people. As technology has become more prevalent and easier to use we’ve become more and more involved in that world.  I’m not saying there is anything wrong with that however we are experiencing epidemic loneliness, we take our mobile phones with us everywhere and half the time don’t even talk to those that are sitting next to us, we email across the office instead of getting up and talking to the other person. When was the last time you couldn’t be reached at any point during your day?  Have you seen a sunrise/set that wasn’t on instagram recently?

We are made of atoms and all the stuff in between and share 90% of the same DNA as daffodils (apparently). We are designed to move and interact with others of our species, to be involved in life life living it vicariously through a credit card and screen. So this year I’m spending less time in virtual reality and more time engaged with real life, I might even attempt gardening!

God-damn but this years been overly dismal, don’t you think?  Bloody death skulking around like he owns the place, putting the frightners on people, causing sadness and despair left, right and centre, or was that the politicians?  Hard to say, really. All I know was that I lost my funny at about an early-ish point of 2016 and gees it was a bummer.. so this year I will be taking the piss out of stuff all over the place because I’m done with crying

ptsd

I don’t know who did this but I think it’s hilarious and strangely familiar ..

Read this list

From time to time I know I’m going to forget what I set out to do so Im going to keep copies of this list and other things that are attached to this list in visible place so I am reminded often of what I need to do to make this year rock.

2017 – It can only get better

singnature

 

 

Leave a Reply

